Garlic Shrimp Delight

When you are single it’s hard to keep up on cooking. There is always the image of the busy single person eating over a kitchen sink. Now, I do not personally know anyone who eats over a sink (least, not so that they have shared the knowledge of this practice), but I do know people who would prefer take-away or just opening a can of pork n beans.

Last week, I picked up some shrimp, thinking while my children were visiting for the weekend, I would make some scampi.

Here it is, two days after they went back home and I still had shrimp. Scampi required white wine, while I only have red wine. Avocado and shrimp looked delish. Only it is January, not June, so it wasn’t the taste I wanted.

Enter the Garlic Shrimp. Shrimp is something that is made a bigger deal of than it should be. I say this only because it is so easy to make.

It is a matter of minutes. Cook shrimp and let it think about what terrible sin it has committed (1 minute), jostle it around, until it turns pink (1 minute), throw in 6 minced garlic cloves, or the more the merrier (1 minute), add 3 tablespoons of lemon and half a handful of Italian Parsley (note:I have small hands), 1- 1/2 Tablespoons of cold butter, then realize it was supposed to be 1/2 teaspoon. So, add 1/2 teaspoon of butter to the 1 -1/2 Tablespoons (1 minute). Add more butter, because it’s butter. Turn to low (2-3 minutes). Realize low isn’t doing anything. Turn knob to medium-lo. Add leftover mozzarella. Let cook another minute or two. Take out shrimp, then pour everything in the pan on top of shrimp.

Take photos and post to Instagram, so you can brag to everyone about your dinner, because that is what Instagram is for

Bon Apetit.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment